CULTURE AND HISTORY FROM AFAR WITH JHSEMINARS
    UPCOMING LECTURE 

Tuesday, Dec 13 at 7 pm Israel time (9 am PST; 12 noon EST; 5 pm UK 11 am Mexico):

THE JEWS OF MEDIEVAL AND EARLY MODERN CATALONIA, Dr. Kathy Aron-Beller

Geographically, politically and culturally Catalonia was a medieval crossroads: between Christianity and Islam, between France and Spain, and between the united Crown of Aragon, and the independent principalities and counties that were joined under the Crown. In thirteenth century Catalonia, important Jewish communities existed in the major cities of Barcelona, Gerona, Vic and Lérida as well as smaller towns such as Tarragona, Montblanch, Villafranca, Besalú, Cervera, and Tortosa. This lecture will highlight the centrality of Catalan Jewry in medieval Jewish culture, the direction, the controversies, the daily life and the very rich literary works of Jewish culture that radiated from this small area of Spain.

Originally from London, Katherine Aron-Beller is lecturer of Jewish History in the Rothberg International School of the Hebrew University and at Tel Aviv University. Her areas of expertise are medieval Jewish history, early modern Jewish-Christian relations, the early modern Inquisition and Anti-Semitism. In 2007-8 she was a Visiting Assistant Professor at the George Washington University in Washington DC. At present she is a Visiting Scholar of the Stephen Roth Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism and Racism. She is the author of Jews on Trial: The Papal Inquisition in Modena 1598-1638 (Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2011), the co-editor of The Roman Inquisition: Centre versus Peripheries (Leiden: Brill, 2018) and many other articles on the Catholic Inquisition, anti-semitism and the Jews of Italy. She is now finishing a book called "Christian Images and Jewish Desecrators: The History of an Allegation," 400-1700." Dr.Aron-Beller has been a scholar in residence on many trips with Jewish Historical Seminars including trips to Spain, Portugal, England, Sicily and Italy.

Tuesday, Dec. 27 at 7 pm Israel time (9 am PST; 12 noon EST; 5 pm UK; 11 am Mexico):

DECENT AND MODEST JEWISH BRIDES - THE CUSTOMS AND ART OF THE KETUBBOT FROM THE ISLAND OF CORFU (GREECE), Prof. Shalom Sabar

The vibrant Jewish community residing on the captivating Greek island of Corfu in the early modern period was largely composed of two congregations: Romaniotes and Sephardim. The former, descendants of the old Jewish community in Europe from Roman times, preserved the ancient Romaniote (Byzantine) rite, known also as Minhag Korfu, while the Sephardi community was originally established by Jews who arrived from south Italy (Apulia) early on and later also north Italian Jews, exiles from the Iberian Peninsula, Marranos, and some Ashkenazim. The mixture of traditions is best reflected in the colorful and attractive ketubbot created on the Island. Talmudic and medieval traditions known from Eretz Israel and Egypt are joined together with Italian and other European customs. Strong contacts with the community of Venice, which ruled the island for several centuries, influenced the local Jewish art and led to the decoration of some of the most attractive and sophisticated ketubbot that are known to us today.

Shalom Sabar is a Professor Emeritus of the Dept of Art History and Jewish Folklore of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Shalom has been our amazing scholar in residence on many of our tours throughout many years. Shalom has introduced us all to the wonderful culture, art and folklore of so many Jewish communities throughout the world. His wonderful enthusiasm has rubbed off on everyone who listens to him!  

One is able to register for the same fee and view a recording of a past lecture for a number of days.

To register: USD 12 via PayPal.me/JHSeminars and contact: JHS@JewishHistoricalSeminars.com